Saskatchewan Announces New Liquor Store Owners

11 New Stores & 39 Conversions

50 privatized liquor stores in Saskatchewan have been announced by the government. 39 SLGA liquor stores will be converted to privately run stores and 11 new retail store permits will be issued.

Sobeys won the most number of stores and will be adding nine stores to the two it currently owns in Saskatchewan. Local Co-ops were awarded 14 stores.  Six stores will be taken over by government liquor store employees and some will be working with partners. Other successful bidders include private companies.

The selection process was overseen by SLGA and accounting firm KPMG so there was no political involvement.

The government will be retaining control and profits from SLGA liquor wholesaling.

According to SLGA, the opening dates for new stores will vary, depending on whether it’s a new build or a renovation to an existing store. Most stores must open within 12 months of the announcement date and stores in Regina, Saskatoon, Yorkton, Melville, Lloydminster, Moose Jaw and Kindersley must open within 18 months. SLGA stores being privatized will continue operating until the new locations are open.

Following is a list of new liquor store owners:

Aberdeen – Yeuk Ping Chan, owner of Soul Wok Chinese restaurant

Battleford – Sobeys Liquor

Bienfait – Pritpal Singh Hans, Saskatchewan entrepreneur

Broadview – Hometown Co-operative

Canora – Gateway Co-operative

Carrot River – Carrot River Inn

Dalmeny – Hepburn Co-operative

Davidson – Riverbend Co-operative

Emerald Park/White City – Sobeys Liquor

Foam Lake – Eugene & Golda Parry, operators of Foam Lake Husky

Gravelbourg – Southland Co-operative

Gull Lake – Pioneer Co-operative

Hague – 101155892 Saskatchewan Ltd., company operating Hague Service Centre

Hudson Bay – Myhr’s Northeast Service

Indian Head – Ilgyo Alvin Kim & John Kim, owner of Morse Liquor & Grocery Store

Kamsack – Ritchie Industries Ltd., operator of Kamsack Petro Canada

Kelvington – Cindy & Brian Sunderland, owners of Bryson Drilling Ltd.

Kindersley – Sobeys Liquor

Kipling – Gee Bee Construction Co. Ltd.

Lanigan – Laura Bryksa, liquor store employee

Leader – Dustin & Beth Heatcoat, Dwight Hoffman & Gloria Klub, local ownership group that includes a liquor store employee

Lloydminster – Nola Dagenais, Liquor store employee

Maple Creek – Pioneer Co-operative

Melville – Sobeys Liquor

Moose Jaw – Sobeys Liquor

Osler – Suresh Venkatachalam, owner of Samosa King

Outlook – Ourera Investment Corporation, operator of Dynamic Autobody

Pilot Butte – New Horizon Group of Companies

Preeceville – Garth Harris, liquor store employee

Raymore – Last Mountain Co-operative

Regina – Sobeys Liquor

Regina – Metro Liquor (Sask.) Inc., B.C.-based liquor retailer

Rosetown – Adam & Donna Pich, business owners from Yellowknife with ties to Saskatchewan

Rosthern – Reds Liquor and Beer Store, local ownership group that includes a liquor store employee

Saskatoon – Sobeys Liquor

Saskatoon – Metro Liquor (Sask.) Inc.

Saskatoon – Liquor Stores North America, North America’s largest publicly-traded liquor retailer, based in Edmonton

Shaunavon – Shaunavon Co-operative

Shellbrook – Kerb Side Convenience

St. Walburg – Bobby Domes & Philip Jetzke, Local ownership group that includes a liquor store employee

Stoughton – Stoughton Consumers Co-operative

Tisdale – Sobeys Liquor

Unity – Delta Co-operative

Wadena – Wadena Co-operative

Wakaw – Country Crossroads Services

Waskesiu – Darryl Fox, Saskatchewan-based partnership of small business owners

Watson – Midway Co-operative

Wilkie – Delta Co-operative

Wynyard – Adam & Donna Pich

Yorkton – Sobeys Liquor